Developers in 22 countries are now able to set prices for their Android apps listed on the Play Store. The new batch of countries also features heavily from Africa, but includes some nations in the Caribbean, South America, east of Africa, and Oceania. Users in these countries previously only had access to free apps.

Here's the full list:

  • Chad
  • Comoros
  • Congo (DRC)
  • Congo (Republic)
  • Djibouti
  • Dominica
  • Eritrea
  • Gambia
  • Grenada
  • Liberia
  • Libya
  • Maldives
  • St. Kitts & Nevis
  • St. Lucia
  • Samoa
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • Solomon Islands
  • Somalia
  • Suriname
  • Tonga
  • Vanuatu

In all of these new countries, the Play Store may display the price of apps in the buyer's local currency, but will process the transaction in the currency of where the developer is based.

Google has been aggressively expanding support for paid apps in smaller markets including many across Africa.