For a while, desktop Google Drive's selective sync functionality has been rather, well, selective. You could only select top-level folders. This meant you could select all of your music, or all of your photos, but not a specific set of albums.
Now that's changing. Google has introduced the ability to selectively sync subfolders on Windows and Mac. This gives you more control over how much data stays on your computer and how much remains only on Google's servers.
This update comes with another small but useful change. When you delete a folder that contains shared files, you cause other people to lose access. Google will shoot you a warning when this happens and allow you to undo the action.
Or you can just wait for someone to email you when they can't find what they're looking for a couple of days from now.
- Google Drive blog