If you should suddenly find yourself stranded in a tiny out-of-the-way country after a Nathan Drake-style adventure this holiday season (or maybe if you live there, I guess), take heart in the knowledge that at least your Android phone knows its way home. Google has added 25 new countries to Google Maps Navigation this week, from the landlocked European nation of Andorra all the way to Maldives in the Indian Ocean. Here's the full list of new countries:

  • Andorra
  • Bangladesh
  • Bhutan
  • Burundi
  • Central African Republic
  • Croatia
  • Djibouti
  • Gabon
  • Guadeloupe
  • Haiti
  • Lesotho
  • Libya
  • Maldives
  • Mongolia
  • Puerto Rico
  • Republic of Congo
  • Samoa
  • Serbia
  • Sierra Leone
  • Somalia
  • Togo
  • Tonga
  • Tunisia
  • Vanuatu
  • Zambia

Most of the new additions are in Africa, though the rest are scattered across the globe as if some Google engineer was choosing them via the dartboard method. All of the new countries have all major roads mapped and available for turn-by-turn navigation, unlike some nations (including Algeria, Bahrain, and Russia) where navigation is only available in certain regions. All told, Google Maps Navigation is now available in 99 different countries, despite still being labeled as "beta" on the Google support page.

Source: Google Maps Support