16
Oct
1

There's no shortage of ways to track your data while working out, especially when it comes to things like running and cycling. There's Runkeeper, Map My Ride/Run, Endomondo, Strava, and many others. Which one you choose really comes down to personal preference, but each has its own set of benefits and features that may make it a better fit into your life. Personally, I've been using Runtastic since I reviewed the Orbit a couple of months ago, and settled in with the company's dedicated road cycling app after getting the Runtastic-branded Speed & Cadence Sensor and Heart Rate Monitor.

03
Oct
DSC05352
Last Updated: October 5th, 2014

While LG isn't exactly a household name in the headphone business, the company's Tone line of Bluetooth headsets are extremely popular - like, 7,500+ reviews on Amazon popular. The company's newest model - the most premium it's released yet - is the Tone Infinim, model HBS900. With tuning by Harman Kardon, they get a bit of audio brand recognition, but I honestly would just say these are a good set of headphones altogether.

25
Sep
wm_IMG_3613
Last Updated: September 26th, 2014

It's basically my job to type, so I type a lot. There's quite a bit more to it than that, of course, but typing is kind of the cornerstone of being a writer of any kind. Because of the amount of typing I do, a good keyboard is important. Not just a good keyboard for my desktop and laptop, but when I'm going to be doing some work on my tablet, I need something I can trust there, too.

25
Sep
1
Last Updated: September 26th, 2014

Every kid loves Legos, and most people in general have loved Legos at one point in their life (the only exception are people who were never kids). It's one of those toys that has stood the test of time – kids have not only enjoyed, but basically obsessed over Legos for more than 60 years. That's pretty impressive.

One of the reasons why Lego has been able to maintain popularity is because it's constantly evolving as a toy.

25
Sep
DSC05330
Last Updated: September 26th, 2014

When a company's pitch to you is that their smartphone accessory was developed in cooperation with Raytheon, you're likely to listen. When that company then tells you they've built the world's first truly affordable thermal (infrared) camera and that it also attaches directly to your smartphone, you listen closely.

No, this isn't a gimmick, a trick, or some kind of workaround using widely-available technology to emulate thermal imaging. Seek Thermal is a real thermal imaging device that you can attach to your smartphone's microUSB port (Galaxy S4, S5, and Moto X / Moto G currently supported officially) and feed live video from the IR camera to the display.

23
Sep
DSC05319

As someone who owns a big set of cumbersome Klipsch bookshelf speakers, I can understand the pain having a not-smart audio setup can cause. My speakers are tethered to my amplifier, which is tethered to my DAC, which is tethered to my PC. Sure, I have a Moto Stream and I like it, but I have to switch audio inputs to use it and I don't exactly need wireless audio at my desk, given that I have said setup.

22
Sep
DSC05314
Last Updated: September 23rd, 2014

Nocs debuted the NS400 back in late 2012 (a headphone I reviewed), and for 2014 they've finally got a successor: the NS500 Aluminum. The buds house a new driver that has allegedly been painstakingly tuned over the course of six months to get everything just right, and they really are pretty premium on features. Three-button remote (the middle button works for Android, good luck with any of the others), very elegant aluminum driver housings, a Kevlar-reinforced flat cable, and microphone.

19
Sep
piper-thumb

When I was in the process of opening my small pharmacy more than 3 years ago, I contacted a security firm and installed several thousands of dollars worth of surveillance and alarm equipment. It works reliably, but it's a huge pain to change any setting in the system (there's no user interface, just a bunch of wires and keys) or get any footage out of it. It feels antiquated compared to today's more modern Internet-connected smart solutions with simplified experiences, but that was the most appropriate choice at the time.

12
Sep
1
Last Updated: September 14th, 2014

Android is showing up on a lot of different devices these days - some of which make more sense than others. While I don't necessarily want my favorite mobile OS running on my fridge or oven, I'm willing to give it a shot on something that makes at least a little more sense, like HP's Slatebook 14, for example. The idea is simple: it's a 14-inch Tegra 4-powered laptop running Android.

05
Sep
wm_thumb

Almost a year ago, I reviewed the Soundfreaq Sound Spot, a speaker that's mid-century modern design is eye-catching to some (like myself) and not so appealing to others. As polarizing as the design may be, though, there's no denying that it's a killer little speaker for the money. For this year, Soundfreaq doubled up on the speakers, added a couple of new tricks, kept the same sexy design, and called it the Double Spot.

Page 1 of 2312345...10...Last»