Facebook may have saved many a friendship when it first introduced the "unfollow" feature, wherein a user can tune someone out completely without the drastic step of unfriending them. But there may be times when you just need a break from someone in your network, but you don't necessarily want to ignore them forever. Facebook hopes to address this need with its newly announced feature, Snooze, coming within the next few days.

Snooze will appear as an option from the top-right drop-down menu of someone's post, and when activated, the user will temporarily unfollow the person for 30 days. Over that time, the user will see neither hide nor hair of the snoozed account. To maintain peace in our time, no one is alerted to the fact that they have been snoozed, and it can be turned off before the 30 days is up.

Snooze

Posted by Facebook on Wednesday, December 13, 2017

It's sort of like the Facebook equivalent of pretending to listen to someone on the phone prattle on while you interject random "uh-huhs" and "mhmms" as you wait for them to stop talking. We will have to see how Snooze gets implemented on Facebook's mobile apps versus desktop. Facebook says Snooze contributes to fulfilling its "core News Feed values," a set of noble-sounding and vaguely contradictory principles announced last year, aimed at showing users "the stories most relevant to them." These include the ability to control one's own experience, which sometimes butts up against another core value, that of being a "platform for all ideas."

Well, now Facebook can be a platform for all ideas, except for those of that one friend who's driving you nuts with all the posts about his perfect, happy life and you don't mean to be rude, but you just can't deal. For 30 days, anyway.

Press Release

News Feed FYI: Introducing Snooze to Give You More Control Of Your News Feed

By Shruthi Muraleedharan, Product Manager

One of our core News Feed values is giving people more control. Over the next week, we’re launching Snooze, which will give you the option to temporarily unfollow a person, Page or group for 30 days. By selecting Snooze in the top-right drop-down menu of a post, you won’t see content from those people, Pages or groups in your News Feed for that time period.

Seeing too many photos of your uncle’s new cat? Is your friend tempting you with endless photos of ramen on her Japan trip? It turns out, you’re not alone. We’ve heard from people that they want more options to determine what they see in News Feed and when they see it. With Snooze, you don’t have to unfollow or unfriend permanently, rather just stop seeing someone’s posts for a short period of time. The people, Pages, and groups you snooze will not be notified. You will be notified before the Snooze period is about to end and the setting can also be reversed at any time.

Controls for your News Feed aren’t new. With features like Unfollow, Hide, Report and See First, we’ve consistently worked toward helping people tailor their News Feed experience, so the time they spend on Facebook is time well spent. As News Feed evolves, we’ll continue to provide easy-to-use tools to give you the most personalized experience possible every time you visit Facebook.